No Meat March. The verdict

I have now completely finished with No Meat March, so I’ve listed below some of my thoughts, and reactions.

I didn’t feel the desire to gorge on meat at the end…

I grew up in a family that was pretty meant heavy, and especially red meat heavy in it’s diet.  Meat was almost seen as a virtue by some of its members, and there was a time when I saw things that way too.  However when I was coming up to the end of No Meat March there wasn’t any part of me that felt I needed to go out and gorge on meat because of the enforced abstinence.  This however could be down to the fact that I am specifically trying to outgrow having an all or nothing mind set.

I missed fish most of all…

I had expected to miss traditional meat dishes, and especially the comfort foods, such as lasagne, bolognaise.  However I didn’t.  Probably because there are plenty of veggie comfort food options.  I found I did keep on thinking “I’d like some salmon,” or “I fancy a tuna salad,”.  I could definitely be pescitarian.

Worst of all was the running…

Having not balanced out my diet to include the needs of running was probably the lowest point of the month.  However, this problem can happen for both meat eaters and vegetarians, its just slightly more likely to happen for vegetarians.  A poorly balanced meat diet can result in the same.  There are plenty of vegetarian protein alternatives, and once I’d done a little research and adjusted it was fine.  The need to adjust diet is something that will hit everyone at some point, given all the changes our bodies go through in a life time.  Which brings me onto the next point…

I’ll definitely continue to include soy mince in my diet…

Cheaper than beef mince, able to store it for longer, less fat, and lighter, this feels to me to be a fantastic alternative.  It will definitely be part of my store cupboard from now on.

When eating out, you need to explore other cultures…

European cultures are often quite meat heavy, and if you want more than one option you need to explore other cultures food.  Which is great fun.  Turkish is particularly recommended, but I can’t praise Yo Sushi enough for it’s amazing Tofu Katsu Curry and fried aubergines.

Lunch is the saddest time…

If you haven’t got your act together to bring you own lunch into work and end up having to pop out for a sandwich you have two options, egg and cress and cheese and pickle.  Which leads me on to…

It’s healthier because…

Often you have to do things like prepare you own lunches and cook from scratch, which are essentially healthier ways of eating because you can avoid over processed foods.  I’ve always eaten vegetables and fruit, but because I was eating so much more, I felt really good about what I was putting in my body.  Yes, it is possible to be an overweight or unhealthy vegetarian, but as a diet it does draw you more towards increasing health (if you’re doing it right).

Vegans…

Respect!

Conclusion

It was a mainly positive experience, and one I would recommend people try.  I always knew from the beginning that it would not turn me into a vegetarian.  It’s expanded my horizons and helped me come to know myself, and my own food preferences better.

 

Leave a Reply

